A celebration.

Today my grandparents celebrated their 65th wedding Anniversary. 65 years!!!! That truely is amazing. I mean really sit and think about that…..65 years!! Wow.

I love sitting with my Grandma and Grandad. A cup of tea in hand, listening to all their stories from years ago. And a lot they do have. I especially love their story about how they met all those many many moons ago. Always fascinated about how it all began. And it really wasn’t love at first site!

You see they both grew up in a tiny little village not far from Biggleswade called Dunton. My grandma lived in a house along the main road, this was where she was born, and raised. And my grandad was born and raised in a house which still stands on the very outskirts of Dunton (there is an apple tree out the front of this house which he swears to me he planted the core and grew it!).

Both went to the little village school, and were in the same class. When I ask Gran about this she just says ‘hmmmm yes he used to get right on my nerves!) so funny.

They both left school, really paying no attention to each other at all throughout the years. And my grandma got a job at the post office in Biggleswade. My grandad ended up going to war.
Now whilst Grandad was away, they used to get their clothes etc sent out to them. Once they had been darned back together. And on his socks there used to be the initials AC Alice Carter of the lady who had fixed the clothes up for him. Grandad started to write letters to this Alice Carter thinking it was the lady who had helped mend his clothes but instead these letters ended up going to my Gran who was also an Alice Carter!!
They soon figured this out but still carried on writing to each other and once Grandad was home from war ended up going on there first date!! A year later they married at 27 and A few years later when Gran was 36 she gave birth to my Dad.
And well the rest is history.

65 years on and both at 92 years of age they are still married and going strong.

This is a real inspiration for any one of us today. I’m sure they have had bad times and many many good ones to, but what they have done is always stuck together.
I love how they niggle at each other and curse each other under their breaths sometimes. This always makes me giggle. But then how sweet they can be and you can see the love they have for one another is still there.

I sometimes think about how fate bought them together, that lady with the same initials and name as my grandma and all along grandad was meant to send them letters to the other Alice, but they fell into the hands of Grandma. They would never have met if it wasn’t for that little mistake.

I love this story.

I love them both dearly.

And i cannot imagine my life without either of them in it.

This entry was posted in Missmarthaandme. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A celebration.

  1. Donna says:

    Awwwww that is such a gorgeous story!

Leave a comment